A Brief History
A brief History of our Location: Lake Hopatcong was a happening place in the turn of the century (1900s). Nolan's Point was a central part of the Lake Experience. In fact, where the Windlass sits today - The Lake Pavilion once stood. Built in the 1880s for the booming summer tourist trade - it featured a dance hall, restaurant, picnic grounds, amusements, and hotel. In 1928 the property became a part of Nolan's Point Amusement Park which had facilities to thrill guests with roller coasters and rides. Frank Crater took over the property when the park closed during The Depression.
He converted the large ballroom into a roller rink which later collapsed in 1948. Crater's Tavern was established in a salvaged portion of the building. In 1963, the Spinelli family took ownership and named their new luncheonette the Windlass. The Spinelli family grew the business into a full-service Italian restaurant. In August 2014, Alice Szigethy purchased the property which has since been renovated with the history and tradition of the Windlass in mind. During the construction - many artifacts were unearthed and discovered. Some are on display in our dining room.